Community Areas

Chicago's Community Areas were defined by the Social Science Research Committee at the University of Chicago in the 1920s. There are 77 well-defined community areas, and their borders do not change.

A Community Area may contain one or more neighborhoods, and a neighborhood may share a name with the Community Area it is a part of.